surgery update/vent/other news

January 9, 2009

Kali’s surgery went well, I guess. Lets just say that she is recovering well.

Turns out her fundoplication was still in place but was being obstructed by a giant hiatal hernia. We knew about the hernia but we didn’t know how large it actually was. The surgeon said that when the stomach is pushed through the hole in the diaphragm it can change the position of the esophagus and fundoplication allowing the stomach to reflux.

The hiatal hernia has been fixed, but it was fixed last year! This is something that we will probably have to have fixed again and again. There is nothing you can really do to prevent a hiatal hernia, which is frustrating because that makes us feel totally helpless. I almost wish that the fundo had slipped after all because you can do things to prevent slippage.

Oh well, at least this will make Kali comfortable for as long as it holds.

There was a little scare during her surgery where her O2 dropped into the 70s for a few minutes. She had the surgeons worried but she came back up to the 90s and was fine after that.

She is now recovering in the Pediatric ICU and she happens to be the only patient tonight so I am sure she will get the attention that she needs while we sleep at home. There is no way I am sleeping on their couch/bed.

Sydney spent the day at Danny’s uncle’s house. They said she was easy and happy. I can’t wait until I can say the same about both of my girls.

On another note: I am now 31 weeks pregnant. At my dr. appt yesterday the doctor said the baby is measuring big. So I may be a week further along than we think. I am starting fetal monitoring this week and also going to see my doc in 2 weeks and then weekly after that. We are planning on a C-section mid-February. I am very hopeful that I will be recovered enough for my brother’s wedding in early March.

One Response to “surgery update/vent/other news”

  1. Tori Says:

    If you need my help again this time with the appointments let me know!


Leave a Reply

